Progressing

Not participating in Tour de Fleece or the Ravellenic Games (Or the games formerly known as Ravelympics) so I don’t feel any pressure to accomplish anything in any time frame (the baby is not due until January). Have not felt much like spinning although I have just a little plouff to finish of the CA Red roving. I guess I know I need to wash some fleece.

Boatneck Pullover

The Boatneck Pullover is blocking. I felt I had gauge but when I blocked to measurement, it was overlarge and I was pushing the stitches together. I wonder if that was due to the properties of superwash wool. Next, I need to knit the cuffs, bury the threads and seam the sides. I like the butterscotch color and I have a good bit of a skein left over.
Started a new cardigan from the Cabin Fever Book, Need A Baby Cardigan. I used the Twisted Rib for the border and am knitting a 6-9 mos size in Malabrigo hand-dyed Rios.

Top Down Raglan Sweater

I cast on the border and knit it on a size 8 needle; I felt it was too loosy-goosy so I ripped it and recast on with a 7. I think I could really go down to a 6 but I will roll with the texture it is now. It may bloom a little with blocking and I am sure there will be some dye run-off. It has that crunchy feeling. I don’t know what the manufacturers are thinking when they write their band info. 4.5 st/inch would be too slack.

The color name is Candombe and it is dark blue, dark green with some brown/tan highlights. I am not using two balls, alternatively because I think with the small size, pooling won’t be a serious problem.

Top Down Raglan Sweater

Today, Village Wool is having their bag sale and I think I am going. Although I have more than enough wool I want more of the Malabrigo superwash and also some Madelinetosh. It will be 50% off and I have been really looking for some interesting superwash for baby stuff. I don’t think there will anything else I want. Cascade and Debbie Bliss make some nice wool superwash but there are no tonals, heathers, or hand-dyed and they can be a little blah. I liked Mission Falls but they are gone. Many of other yarns I would like to use like Quince and CO or Swann Island or Kristin Nicholas’ resurrected Julia are not superwash and I hate to do that to new parents. As the kid get bigger, I think you can get away with natural wool provided it is not too light.

Stash Enhancement

Later….. I went to Village Wool. I bought some more Malagrigo in different colorways. (Turns out the only Madelinetosh was some beige sport weight: a little meh and pricey compared to the Malabrigo) I didn’t find any bulky superwash wool so I bought some Araucania Panguipulli, which is a marled, hand-dyed bulky yarn but not superwash because I had to fill the bag. I didn’t see anything else I really wanted. Still, I got about $200 worth of wool for half price. I also got some nice ceramic buttons, card of 5 for $2. If I had know they were so cheap, I would have bought more but by that time I was really done shopping. I cleaned out my superwash/baby stuff and found some cotton and some Cashmerino baby, too as well as some Dale Ull. Maybe, I can get rid of it on Ravelry.

ETA: Grammar

I hope my kids are not looking for pastel sayelle-looking little lacy, grandma garments for their babies; not going to happen although I may rethink some of those colors for older ones. Don’t want anyone to say who are these zombie babies??

Leave a Reply

